Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward

How does the story flow work? (minimal spoilers)

I'm sorry if this has already been answered, but I don't want to look through the other threads in fear of spoilers. So, please don't answer my question with something that's gonna ruin the story for me. If my answer will be revealed eventually, just let me know that and don't tell me.

Anyway, here's what I mean: I got to a certain point where it didn't let me go on anymore, so I had to go back to something earlier. This already confused me, because I thought each different path was simply a unique way to go through the game, so why would I reach a dead end and have to go back? But what made my confusion even worse is my character was talking about knowing what was going to happen, and time travel. That leads me to believe that the first path I took influenced this one. I was already really impressed that they could have such variety in the different paths (presumably, of course. This is my first time through the game), but do they seriously change it even based on the ORDER you go through them? So does that mean that, in order to get all the possible storylines, you would have to play through all 22 of the endings MULTIPLE times? Because that's pretty nuts if it's true. I'm also about to go back and test what happens if I make the same choice I did the first time. I'm quite confused and very curious now, some answers or at least hints would be nice. Thanks.

Cant completely answer you question because its about the story but no you dont have to play the same routes again and nothing new happens if you do but rather you continue from where it ended last time because it was locked before something happened. Press start and go to the flow chart to access the part it ended without starting again.

Edited by Figma

Alright, so I've played the game a little more now and have a decent idea of how this works, but I still have one question, so long as it doesn't ruin anything for me: