Wizardry: Labyrinth of Lost Souls

Noob question: front/back row, MP

Ok so I'm not a total noob to dungeon crawlers, or RPGs, but I am new to Wizardry (got it today) and I have a couple questions.

1. How come my backrow characters not attack? I see the staves are "S" range, I guess I'll need to give my mages slingshots or bows, then, so they can do basic attacks from the backrow? :> I'd appreciate any hints because I'm effectively using 3 people to fight, and 3 are defending/sitting ducks most of the time.

2. How can I tell how much MP remaining my mages got?

My party formation is, if that helps:

Front: Lord, Fighter, Samurai

Back: Mage, Bishop, Priest

Tried making a balanced party, mixed races, genders, etc. Thanks.

1. "S" means that the weapon has short range. If you want your characters to attack from the back row you'll have to give them weapons with medium or long range. It basically works like this:

Short = can only attack adjacent units;

Medium - can attack units that are one row away from you

Long = 2 rows away from you;

and so on.

(E) - enemy

© - character

1. E E E

2. E E E

3. C C C

4. C C C

- Let's say that a character in row 3 is equiped with an 'S' weapon. It means that he will only be ably to attack enemies in row 2.

- If a character from row 4 is equiped with an 'S' weapon he won't be able to attack at all!

- If a character from row 4 is equiped with M weapon, he'll be able to attck enemies from row 2. But if you give the same 'M' weapon to character in row 3 he'll be able to attack ALL enemies (both in row 1 AND 2)!

2. Your mages (or any class that can cast spells) don't have MP per say. This game follows the basic rules of Dungeons and Dragon 3rd Edition. Which means that you have a fixed number of spells you can cast before running dry. In your magic screen there are lots of numbers that signify one things - number of times you can cast spells of that level. It looks like this:

9/9/9/8/7/6/5/2/0