XboxAchievements Got a news tip? tips@ps3t.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   PlaystationTrophies.org > >

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-25-2011, 02:54 AM   #1
DarqueDragon
 
DarqueDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,200

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Default Why won't my blu-ray movie play?

I bought a brand new sealed copy of a movie from a couple years ago, put it into my PS3, and left the room. When I returned about 10 - 15 minutes later, it was still on the loading screen. I know some movies can take awhile, but never this long. Other movies work just fine, but certain ones seem to take forever to load.
Any ideas? Has this happened to anyone else, and how can I fix it?
__________________
My Final Fantasy XIV Character Info: Kw'inn Darque



My Stats
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)

I do NOT accept blank friend requests.

Last edited by DarqueDragon; 12-25-2011 at 03:03 AM.
DarqueDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 07:20 AM   #2
PhantoMLorD41
 
PhantoMLorD41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 61
Default

Might need an update since movie is couple years old. All blu tay players need firmware updates every now and then
PhantoMLorD41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 07:40 AM   #3
DarqueDragon
 
DarqueDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,200

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PhantoMLorD41 View Post
Might need an update since movie is couple years old. All blu tay players need firmware updates every now and then
It's not a blu-ray player. It's my PS3. It is updated to the current software. Does the blu-ray part get updated separately, cuz I have never heard of that before.
__________________
My Final Fantasy XIV Character Info: Kw'inn Darque



My Stats
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)

I do NOT accept blank friend requests.
DarqueDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 07:54 AM   #4
Shadowrider50
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia (GMT+10:00)
Posts: 1,902

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Community Gaming Event Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Default

Is your tv connected via hdmi?
I heard sony did something to stop av cables on bluray movies or something like that.
I would give the disc a clean with a microfibre cloth see if that assists
Shadowrider50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2011, 08:00 AM   #5
alexslykid
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 540
Default

did you buy it from the store or eBay?

im not sure whats wrong, try cleaning it, theres not much i can help you with.

All 80 of my BluRays worked fine so far.

sorry buddy and good luck.
alexslykid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 07:55 AM   #6
DarqueDragon
 
DarqueDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,200

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Default

I have discovered the problem. A friend pointed me to an official playstation answer.
Turns out that there are times when the BD Live server for the studio that released that game is overloaded. If you go into settings, you will see an option for allowing blu-ray discs access to the internet, where you can select enable or confirm. If you switch it to confirm, it will ask when you start the disc if you want to let it connect. Select no, and it will load right up. This worked, and then I just changed it back to enable afterwards.
__________________
My Final Fantasy XIV Character Info: Kw'inn Darque



My Stats
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)

I do NOT accept blank friend requests.
DarqueDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 08:15 AM   #7
mjc0961
 
mjc0961's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: US (GMT -5)
Posts: 24,835

Awards Showcase Word of Mouth - Silver   Beat the Muff   Killzone: Mercenary Game Night Award   First PS4 Game Nights   Community Gaming Event Platinum   Guide Supplement Silver   PS3T's 5th Birthday Game Night Series   Jack of All Trades   Gold  Road Map Submitter   15,000 Posts   Call of Duty 4 Birthday   LittleBigPlanet Winter Wonderland, Third Place
Total Awards: 18 (more» ...)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarqueDragon View Post
I have discovered the problem. A friend pointed me to an official playstation answer.
Turns out that there are times when the BD Live server for the studio that released that game is overloaded. If you go into settings, you will see an option for allowing blu-ray discs access to the internet, where you can select enable or confirm. If you switch it to confirm, it will ask when you start the disc if you want to let it connect. Select no, and it will load right up. This worked, and then I just changed it back to enable afterwards.
Why the fuck would a blu-ray disc need to go online anyway. The movie is on the disc, just play it! If you wanted to connect to the internet to watch, you clearly would have gone with Netflix or a similar service.

Sometimes all these technological advances are fucking stupid and get in the way of our entertainment rather than making it easier to get to. Anyway, enough ranting glad to hear you solved the problem and to get this information to keep in mind in case any of my movies get stuck (so dumb).
__________________
Got "Social Lubricant" after the patch. Go on. Let me hear you cry.

mjc0961 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 08:28 AM   #8
DarqueDragon
 
DarqueDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,200

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts
Total Awards: 1 (more» ...)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjc0961 View Post
Why the fuck would a blu-ray disc need to go online anyway. The movie is on the disc, just play it! If you wanted to connect to the internet to watch, you clearly would have gone with Netflix or a similar service.
Watching the movie itself doesn't require the internet, but sometimes, certain special features do. These are usually things like updated commentaries or special access to sequel or related movie trailers, and things like that. It is a service called BD Live, which allows studios to update information and features on a movie using the internet. Have you not heard of this?
__________________
My Final Fantasy XIV Character Info: Kw'inn Darque



My Stats
Spoiler! (click here to reveal)

I do NOT accept blank friend requests.
DarqueDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 09:04 AM   #9
alexslykid
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarqueDragon View Post
Watching the movie itself doesn't require the internet, but sometimes, certain special features do. These are usually things like updated commentaries or special access to sequel or related movie trailers, and things like that. It is a service called BD Live, which allows studios to update information and features on a movie using the internet. Have you not heard of this?
yeah some blu-rays come with PS3 themes, which requires you to connect online to get the theme.
alexslykid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 10:52 AM   #10
Shadowrider50
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Australia (GMT+10:00)
Posts: 1,902

Awards Showcase 1,000 Posts   Community Gaming Event Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mjc0961 View Post
Why the fuck would a blu-ray disc need to go online anyway. The movie is on the disc, just play it! If you wanted to connect to the internet to watch, you clearly would have gone with Netflix or a similar service.

Sometimes all these technological advances are fucking stupid and get in the way of our entertainment rather than making it easier to get to. Anyway, enough ranting glad to hear you solved the problem and to get this information to keep in mind in case any of my movies get stuck (so dumb).
It's probably like an update,
I can see your point though,
Forcing to download the update EVERYTIME instead of a convenient option of no or yes per dvd is overly stupid.
Shadowrider50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:57 AM.