XboxAchievements Got a news tip? tips@ps3t.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   PlaystationTrophies.org > >

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-03-2011, 03:19 AM   #1
CMH777
 
CMH777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Send a message via Skype™ to CMH777
Default New HDD problem

Ok I just put in my new HDD 750gb. But the problem is it says

"No acclicable update found. Connect storage media that contains update data version 3.61 or later, then press the START and SELECT buttons at the same time."

That is exactly what it says. Any help would be very much appreciated.
__________________
CMH777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 03:23 AM   #2
GODCHILD1020
 
GODCHILD1020's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 6,021
Send a message via AIM to GODCHILD1020 Send a message via MSN to GODCHILD1020

Awards Showcase Gold  Road Map Submitter   Word of Mouth - Bronze   A+ Thread Award   Platinum Submission   5,000 Posts   Maximum Clubs Top 5   Member of the Month Winner   Bright Idea!   Gold Trophy Guide Submitter   Community Gaming Event Bronze
Total Awards: 10 (more» ...)
Default

Get a USB drive and Download the update from the Sony site and see if the works.

http://us.playstation.com/support/systemupdates/ps3/
__________________
I need to grow up! And manage my time better.


GODCHILD1020 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 04:06 AM   #3
CMH777
 
CMH777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Send a message via Skype™ to CMH777
Default

This did not work. When I first turn my system on it says

"Connect the controller using a USB cable, and the press the PS button."

Which I do then it says

"The system software cannot be run correctly. Press the PS button to restart the system.

If the system cannot be restarted, the system partition of the hard disk must be reformatted and you must reinstall the system software.
Connect storage media that contains update data of version 3.61 or later, and then press the START and SELECT buttons at the same time.

For information on how to obtain update data, refer to the SCE Web site for your region."

Now this is the only screen I get and it's black with white writing, I can not do anything else.
__________________
CMH777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 08:52 PM   #4
Ryukori
 
Ryukori's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,715

Awards Showcase THL Season 7 - Bingo   Member of the Month Winner   Maximum Clubs Top 5   Bronze Trophy Guide Submitter   First PS4 Game Nights   THL Season 5 - Cross-site Competition Champions   Bronze Submission   THL Season 4 - Big Ol' Pile of Platinums   PS3T's 5th Birthday Game Night Series   5,000 Posts   Jack of All Trades   Community Gaming Event Silver
Total Awards: 14 (more» ...)
Default

What brand of hard drive are you using? The brand might affect the update problem.
__________________
Ryukori is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 09:09 PM   #5
Tetsujin
 
Tetsujin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 453
Default

The update also has to be put in specifically named folders.

Create a folder named "PS3".
Here you create a folder named "UPDATE".
Put the update file in there.

Unless that's what you already did in which case I'm clueless.

Last edited by Tetsujin; 06-03-2011 at 09:12 PM.
Tetsujin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2011, 09:30 PM   #6
CMH777
 
CMH777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Send a message via Skype™ to CMH777
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sackboy_LBP View Post
What brand of hard drive are you using? The brand might affect the update problem.
It's a seagate that was highly recommended.
And for the usb I did that exactly and still does not work.

Also I should mention that the words are white on a black screen. and I can not use the XMB or do anything else on my system.
__________________

Last edited by CMH777; 06-03-2011 at 10:54 PM.
CMH777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2011, 01:55 AM   #7
CMH777
 
CMH777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 331
Send a message via Skype™ to CMH777
Default

finally got it working. Thanks guys for pointing me the right direction.
__________________
CMH777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 04:29 PM.