XboxAchievements Got a news tip? tips@ps3t.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   PlaystationTrophies.org > > > >

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2011, 08:52 PM   #1
xCraigy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Currently resides in the land of internet heroes.
Posts: 57
Default Level query

Hi guys. So I'm having a bit of trouble with a level I've just published. The checkpoints are extremely inconsistent. I've tried deleting them all and replacing them but when I die I'm still being sent to the wrong ones, since this is a race themed level, this is extremely defeating the purpose. I don't know how to fix it but it's becoming an annoyance. I don't want to leave my level published when it's like this because it's not fair to those who play it. If anyone can help put me out of my misery and knows how to resolve it could you please let me know. I'm looking for swift replies hopefully, I really want to crack on with this platinum.
xCraigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 11:26 PM   #2
Alex.
 
Alex.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 334
Default

It sounds like you need to use player sensors to activate the checkpoints.
What you do is wire a player sensor up to a checkpoint that is ahead so when Sackboy drives/runs/whatever past the sensor it will activate the checkpoint further ahead so if you do die you'll respawn at the correct position, hopefully this has helped although it is kind of complicated to explain in text. I believe what I told you should work if done correctly.
__________________
Alex. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 07:45 AM   #3
xCraigy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Currently resides in the land of internet heroes.
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex. View Post
It sounds like you need to use player sensors to activate the checkpoints.
What you do is wire a player sensor up to a checkpoint that is ahead so when Sackboy drives/runs/whatever past the sensor it will activate the checkpoint further ahead so if you do die you'll respawn at the correct position, hopefully this has helped although it is kind of complicated to explain in text. I believe what I told you should work if done correctly.
Thanks for the reply! Your suggestion was my initial response but it had no effect. When looking into it I realised the checkpoints become varied (no matter what precautions you take) when you switch the level to a versus mode.. I presume since it's multiplayer based and is therefore unreliable on where the other guy's going to be, I'm not really sure. Anyway, I switched my level to cooperative and all was fine. There is a workaround involving emitters but I'm way too lazy to do that :P .. Hopefully this may help someone in the future though.
xCraigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 02:56 PM   #4
RabidJellyfish
 
RabidJellyfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 681
Default

You probably set it as a versus level, right? In versus levels you have no control over the checkpoints; you'll always spawn at a random one when you die. You could always make it a co-op level, but then all the players would have to stay on the same screen. I had the same problem when I tried making a race level, and I still haven't fixed it
__________________


Top 5 : Lost Planet 2, Mirror's Edge, Wipeout HD, Rock Band 2, Sports Champions
Top 5 : Lumines Supernova, Braid, echochrome, Super Stardust HD (not including DLC), PixelJunk Racers 2nd Lap

Bored? Play my levels! http://lbp.me/u/RabidJellyfish/levels
RabidJellyfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2011, 07:15 PM   #5
xCraigy
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Currently resides in the land of internet heroes.
Posts: 57
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RabidJellyfish View Post
You probably set it as a versus level, right? In versus levels you have no control over the checkpoints; you'll always spawn at a random one when you die. You could always make it a co-op level, but then all the players would have to stay on the same screen. I had the same problem when I tried making a race level, and I still haven't fixed it
Yeah, that's exactly what it was pal.
xCraigy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 PM.