After Jak 1 & 2 this game is a godsend

Zelos

Seriously, I hated so much about the first two games (and also made some posts regarding that matter on the Jak 1 board) but this game is actually genuinely fun to me.

Jak 1 was... well, okay. I'd give it 5/10. I just couldn't bear with the controls, the camera, the music and some very stupid game design choices. And I thought the second one would improve on that.

Jak 2 hit me in the face so hard that I wouldn't give it more than 3/10. The only things I liked about the first game were taken away and replaced with HORRIBLE HORRIBLE game design (no health crates in some missions - sometimes 15 minutes of gameplay without a checkpoint) and controls that were even worse than whatever the first game had. I never raged so hard at a game before.

Now that I'm playing Jak 3 immediately after I find it to be 100x better than the first two games.

I started playing with some kind of "oh god, let's just get this trilogy over with" mentality but quickly noticed that nearly everything I hated about the first two games just isn't there.

The music is much better, the driving controls actually feel right this time, the difficutly isn't totally off like in Jak 2 and they seem to have learned how to set checkpoints in a way that doesn't frustrate players.

I saw the reviews on all three games. They all had a 8/10 average or more and I seriously can't understand that.

The third one certainly deserves that score but Jak 1 and 2 are really just below-average and nothing more.

i agree jak 2 was really frustrating in some levels and jak1 other characters designs were kinda lame jak3 was the beat cuase of all the new things they added but i do love all 3 jaks ...jak2 was the far diffcult game i ever played wen i was kid it took like a week to pass it lol

While I disagree with your dislike for the first 2 games, I definitely agree that Jak 3 was the best in the series.