XboxAchievements Got a news tip? tips@ps3t.org
Username
Password

Go Back   PlaystationTrophies.org > >

Old 09-10-2009, 06:49 PM   #1
ThisIsWar

Default RPG: Using guides vs playing on your own

I'm new to RPG games. Main reason: they seem boring to me. But with the whole Final Fantasy thing (everyone saying they're MUST play games), I bought FF VII from the PSN store. Actually bought it a long time ago, just haven't gotten around to starting it. So I'll probably be starting this real soon, I know it's a long game and all.

I remember going to my friends house when he was playing FF XII and Kingdom Hearts, and he ALWAYS had the guide right in front of him. In my opinion, it kind of takes away from the game, making it easier with the whole not having to look for items and whatnot. But again, I'm new to RPG so I shouldn't be assuming I know what I'm talking about

So what I'm trying to get at is: should I buy a guide or play it on my own? Do I really miss all that much without the guide? I'm assuming the game should still be enjoyable without a guide right?

*Will not accept blank friend requests*
ThisIsWar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2009, 06:52 PM   #2
mjc0961

Send a message via Skype™ to mjc0961

Awards Showcase 25,000 Posts   Word of Mouth - Silver   Beat the Muff   Killzone: Mercenary Game Night Award   First PS4 Game Nights   Community Gaming Event Platinum   Guide Supplement Silver   PS3T's 5th Birthday Game Night Series   Jack of All Trades   Gold  Road Map Submitter   Call of Duty 4 Birthday   LittleBigPlanet Winter Wonderland, Third Place
Total Awards: 18 (more» ...)

First of all, you should not buy a guide. This isn't because it's wrong to use a guide, but because it's foolish to pay for something that you can legally get for free all over the internet. Save your money and head to GameFAQs or something similar.