RPG: Using guides vs playing on your own

ThisIsWar

I'm new to RPG games. Main reason: they seem boring to me. But with the whole Final Fantasy thing (everyone saying they're MUST play games), I bought FF VII from the PSN store. Actually bought it a long time ago, just haven't gotten around to starting it. So I'll probably be starting this real soon, I know it's a long game and all.

I remember going to my friends house when he was playing FF XII and Kingdom Hearts, and he ALWAYS had the guide right in front of him. In my opinion, it kind of takes away from the game, making it easier with the whole not having to look for items and whatnot. But again, I'm new to RPG so I shouldn't be assuming I know what I'm talking about :p

So what I'm trying to get at is: should I buy a guide or play it on my own? Do I really miss all that much without the guide? I'm assuming the game should still be enjoyable without a guide right? :p

First of all, you should not buy a guide. This isn't because it's wrong to use a guide, but because it's foolish to pay for something that you can legally get for free all over the internet. Save your money and head to GameFAQs or something similar.

As for using a guide as you play, it's really up to you. If you hate getting stuck, or don't want to miss anything, use a guide. If you want to figure it out for yourself as you go along, go without.

Personally, what I do is I just play the first time on my own, and only grab a guide if I get stumped as to what I should do next. After I finish, then I'll go find a guide and see what I might have missed for future reference. But again, it's really up to you.

Edited by mjc0961
Some people have no common sense whatsoever.

Alright thanks, I'll check the guide only if I get stuck unless I actually like the game =p

You think RPG games are boring and you're asking if you should use a guide to hand hold you through the entire game?