XboxAchievements Got a news tip? tips@ps3t.org
Username
Password
 

Go Back   PlaystationTrophies.org > > > >

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-26-2010, 03:52 PM   #1
Quorthon89
 
Quorthon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Liechtenstein
Posts: 747
Default DLC installed but not working

Hey, so i got this annoying problem:

When I complete the classic final Fallout 3 main Quest (Take it Back), the game just ends the normal way as if the addon is not installed.

That's weird because i already downloaded the DLC. I can even view at the trophies like "Reach Level 30 with good Karma" and so on.

So is this buggy? What can i do to activate Broken Steel?
__________________
Top 3 Platinums: Vanquish | Batman: Arkham Asylum | 3D Dot Game Heroes (EU)

Quorthon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 04:33 PM   #2
Moving On
 
Moving On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5,851

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Community Gaming Event Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Default

Just wait until after the final montage.
You will get a "Two weeks later" screen and you will be able to continue the game.

Note, though, that even with Broken Steel installed, the game will still end if you do nothing when faced with your final decision. If this is the path you choose, you will have to restart an old save.
Moving On is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:04 PM   #3
Quorthon89
 
Quorthon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Liechtenstein
Posts: 747
Default

Just tried it again... not working...
I still die although i enter the correct code, get the credit (with the short "clip" about the deeds of my character) and end up back in the main menu.

Is it possible that the DLC was downloaded but not correctly installed? Weird thing i can see the trophies but the DLC won't start...

I begin to wonder if a reinstallation of the game would help, but would this also delete all my save datas or just the game?


__________________
Top 3 Platinums: Vanquish | Batman: Arkham Asylum | 3D Dot Game Heroes (EU)

Quorthon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:14 PM   #4
Vyrastas
Administrator
 
Vyrastas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yay Area, CA
Posts: 13,737

Awards Showcase Vy's Glow in the Dark Role Playing Mix   Staff - Administrator   Bright Idea!   Helping Hand   Jack of All Trades   Gold  Road Map Submitter   Guide Supplement Bronze   10,000 Posts   Community Gaming Event Bronze   Gold Trophy Guide Submitter   Maximum Clubs Top 5   Gold Submission
Total Awards: 12 (more» ...)
Default

Probably something with the DLC download. If it's listed in the downloads list on the main menu I would think it's good to go.

The trophy visibility is part of the game version update, you would see them even if you didn't have any of the DLC but had updated the game version; they are unrelated.
__________________

Vyrastas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:24 PM   #5
Quorthon89
 
Quorthon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Liechtenstein
Posts: 747
Default

The Topic "Download" in the main menu is empty.

Can I uninstall and reinstall the game without losing my game files?
__________________
Top 3 Platinums: Vanquish | Batman: Arkham Asylum | 3D Dot Game Heroes (EU)

Quorthon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:27 PM   #6
alextalkas
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: greece
Posts: 7
Default

you must start a new game
alextalkas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:42 PM   #7
Vyrastas
Administrator
 
Vyrastas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Yay Area, CA
Posts: 13,737

Awards Showcase Vy's Glow in the Dark Role Playing Mix   Staff - Administrator   Bright Idea!   Helping Hand   Jack of All Trades   Gold  Road Map Submitter   Guide Supplement Bronze   10,000 Posts   Community Gaming Event Bronze   Gold Trophy Guide Submitter   Maximum Clubs Top 5   Gold Submission
Total Awards: 12 (more» ...)
Default

You don't need to start a new game, it will work with existing saves if you download the DLC after the fact.

You should be able to delete the game data that houses the hard drive install and DLC downloads (leave your save data alone, but copy it to a flash drive or something to be safe), then start the game, reinstall the new disc version. Then exit the game, redownload the DLC. Then when you go back into the game whatever you downloaded for DLC should be in the downloads list on the main menu.
__________________

Vyrastas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 07:17 PM   #8
RaitoninguSigma
 
RaitoninguSigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Austria
Posts: 64
Send a message via MSN to RaitoninguSigma Send a message via Skype™ to RaitoninguSigma
Default

Maybe you downloaded the wrong version?
Compare the code of back of the manual and the one of your DLC.
__________________
RaitoninguSigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 07:40 PM   #9
Moving On
 
Moving On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 5,851

Awards Showcase 5,000 Posts   Community Gaming Event Bronze
Total Awards: 2 (more» ...)
Default

Hm, that's weird. As pointed out above, sounds like your DLC isn't installed, then.

Deleting game data (but not the save games) should be worth a try.

Other than that, I can only hope the best for you... as I have been playing the GOTY edition and have no experience with how things are supposed to be working when you have downloaded the additional episodes.
Moving On is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 08:20 PM   #10
Quorthon89
 
Quorthon89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Liechtenstein
Posts: 747
Default

Reinstalled Fallout 3, and that really worked!

I have no idea what went wrong that it didn't work from the start... but since it's working now, i don't really care anymore

Thanks for the help!
__________________
Top 3 Platinums: Vanquish | Batman: Arkham Asylum | 3D Dot Game Heroes (EU)

Quorthon89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:24 AM.