This is how tough a NES cartridge is...

mjfan97

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uCLOxK6FpfA]How Tough are NES Games? - YouTube[/ame] After watching this video I'm amazed at how tough and resilient NES cartridges are compared to discs which can easily break. Which raises me to a couple of questions:

1. Is it possible to use cartridges for a modern day game with it's high-end technology?

2. Do you prefer Cartridges or Discs?

3. With technology rapidly advancing, discs won't be able to hold the amount of processing power required so what kind of substitute are they going to use instead of discs or cartridges?.

I'm no tech expert but if somebody can shine some light on this that would be great.

I like cartridges better. I've never experience loading in a cartridge game, and they save right on the cartridge, so you don't need any other external memory. I would rather use cartridges for handheld consoles, though. Big games mean big cartridges and I don't really like that idea, but for handheld consoles like the upcoming PS Vita, it would be nice to have cartridges. Sadly, that's not going to happen. I love how Nintendo stuck with cartridges for all their handheld consoles.

Another great idea would be to have a single game cartridge and download games onto it from your PC/Mac. Each cartridge would come with it's own micro SD card, or something along those lines, and there should be an online store that you can access from your PC/Mac. I guarantee that this method would increase piracy rates, though.

Cartridges are great for nostalgia, the chunky feeling when you hold it and have to shove it in the slot. Ok that sounds slightly disturbing but I definitely miss playing my N64 games on the actual cartridge/console instead of on an emulator.

Shame cartridges are blatantly inferior in terms of data storage though.

• 2 weeks later...